Skip to content

Wow

July 17, 2008

I’m not really sure what else to say right now. My week has been nothing short of spellbinding. I went into this photography workshop not really knowing what to expect and came out so impressed with the whole thing! I feel like my art has changed already. It was a 4 day, intense reminder of what I started out wanting.

When I was 10 years old, I had a very specific moment where I realized I wanted to be an artist. Everything after that moment became a quest to fulfill that dream. I concentrated on art-related classes in high school, went to fine arts college in Vancouver and have pursued different forms of art for many years. But, somewhere along the way, the need to make an income and other life challenges got in the way, and the art part has been set aside many times, even though it has always been present in me.

This week, I was reminded of that 10 year old and the passion that I have for FINE art. Sometimes, I get images in my head (as I’m sure all artists do) and while they’re clear in there, it can be a challenge to get them out. This week I was taught some methods on how to bring them to fruition.

My class was called ‘The Journey’ and it was so super inspiring. It was soulful and deep and real and fun. The first day, we got an assignment to do a photo incorporating something from nature. The second day, we got an assignment to do a self-portrait. Turns out that I incorporated both in my first assignment. Here it is.

There were no cherries on branches there, but I happened to bring cherries with me!! I stole a branch from a cherry tree and actually tied my store-bought cherries on with hair bands. The rest is taken care of with a tripod, a ladder and the good old self-timer. It’s funny how AFTER you’ve shot a self-portrait, you realize how much meaning it actually holds. More Shawnigan Lake stuff later….

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2008 11:03 pm

    Love this shot…. how did you do the background? Surely that was photoshop? LOVE the texture and the style here – blending almost an illustrative design with photography. How did you do this effect!

  2. rwellmanphotography permalink
    July 19, 2008 9:20 am

    This is actually a cement wall that I was against. I had my camera on a very high tripod.
    The crack effect I added later in Photoshop. I simply took a photo of a crack in a floor, then blended it with the cement wall. Adding a lot of contrast and saturation will make it look ‘illustrative’. Then there is a very slight layer of texture to tone that down a bit.
    Last part – add a tilt shift (lens blur) to the bottom for depth.
    Really very easy when you start with a good raw file!

Leave a Reply

