Skip to content

For my Beautiful Friend Charmaine…

October 14, 2008

Life is busy. We all know this. Then suddenly, time has passed by and we’ve waited so long to do something we’ve meant to do.

This past weekend, I had the chance to do something I’ve been meaning to do for ages. Whenever I go to Vancouver, I am lucky enough to have plenty of invitations to stay with friends. And it’s hard – because I usually go to Vancouver to work, and I don’t get over there often enough to see everyone, and because the ferries are really expensive, and…and…and.

This time I stayed with Charmaine. And we finally got a chance to catch up.

She and I met years ago, through our work, and have watched one another change and grow and make it through our 20’s. Both she and her sister being best friends of mine, of course we’ve stayed in each others lives through all the ‘stuff’ that happens while growing up.

I always KNEW that Charmaine became a mom of course. I was there when she got married and I was there to meet her new babies. This time, I got to meet her little one, Eric, properly – without the distraction of others around us.

Then when her babies were in bed, Char and I sat with wine and popcorn for dinner and I got to see all over again how great she is. I saw that she has become not just a mom, but an amazing mom and wife and person. She has always been hilariously funny. She’s smart and beautiful and we talked about all sorts of things like long time girlfriends do. I feel lucky to have spent this time with her, because it’s been way too long!

I can’t promise that we’ll get times like these more often, because once again, life can get in the way. But it’s so special when it does happen and it warrants the time it takes to stop and acknowledge that.

So, these are for her. Maybe the kids weren’t really ‘into’ getting their photos taken. Maybe I wasn’t really into taking them? But it was hard to leave, because as much as it was great to spend time with her…with them…it wasn’t enough.  xxoo

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Charmaine permalink
    October 14, 2008 1:51 pm

    Thanks for spending the weekend at our place. It was so great to see you and to get some quality one-on-one chat time! Jaimie is still asking if “that lady” is still here.
    love you lots and love those photo’s! Can’t wait to see more!

  2. Diane Lebrun permalink
    October 14, 2008 4:31 pm

    What beautiful photos of Jaimie and Eric. They are so precious and you captured Eric so beautifully. Jaimie can sure turn to the camera, she’s gorgeous!

    Thanks

    Diane

Leave a Reply

