Skip to content

The Naturals and the Other Woman…

October 14, 2008

It’s true that most of us average joes are not model-esque professionals who know how to perform in front of a camera. Despite our exposure to fashion magazines, and ANTM and whatever other fashionista propaganda gets thrown our way, we just aren’t picking it up via osmosis or otherwise.

However….sometimes…..I meet a family like this one. I will always take a bit of time for ‘warm-up’ during a session, where I get the feel for them, they get the feel for me, etc. Sometimes it takes a while to loosen up and get in the groove of the shoot. It is my goal to ease clients into this. No rush. No pressure.

With this family, though, I started in on the session, intending to allow some time for warm up, and this happened: (none of this first series was prompted!)

family portraits fun funky unique beach vancouver bc photography

Not only are they beautiful in front of the camera, they are comfortable! Or at least they had me fooled.

family portraits fun funky unique beach vancouver bc photography

family portraits fun funky unique beach vancouver bc photography

family portraits fun funky unique beach vancouver bc photography

family portraits fun funky unique beach vancouver bc photography

family portraits fun funky unique beach vancouver bc photography

family portraits fun funky unique beach vancouver bc photography

Another thing about these guys is that there were no qualms about getting closer. About touching and hugging and laughing. All families have different and wonderful ways of being together. Any passerby can see that there is love here!

family portraits fun funky unique beach vancouver bc photography

Oh, and as for my reference to the other woman….Davy has one. And Sandi is cool enough to include her. She’s a beauty, isn’t she? (I know she has a name…Sandi, leave me a comment below and remind me again?)

family portraits fun funky unique beach vancouver bc photography

Thanks you guys, for trusting me on the last minute industrial park location and for being so open to it all!

To see the rest of the session with this delightful family, click here. (password required)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2008 6:01 pm

    Hi Rebecca! Just wanting to show some blog love! Great shoot! I’d love to have a Camaro like that! haha. Keep up the awesome work friend!

  2. October 14, 2008 7:53 pm

    well this is my favorite family session from you i have seen. reminds me that i want a session next! well done. they are sweet images and capture the family really well.

  3. Johanne permalink
    October 14, 2008 8:50 pm

    Awesome shoot! I knew you’d have fun with Dave and Sandi! Sandi if you read this… your kids are so beautiful! I can’t believe how much they’ve grown since I saw them last!!!

  4. Sandi permalink
    October 14, 2008 9:17 pm

    Thanks Rebecca! Wow, I can’t wait to see them all – those were great. I love the one of Davy and the girls……. And the one of the 2 girls in the tire……. and the one of Capri on the train…….. and the one of the girls on our backs and…. Well I think you get it !

    Oh yeah, the other woman is “Esther”!

  5. October 15, 2008 9:50 am

    Such great candid shots, they seem like such a wonderful loving family. I think the picture of Dad and his girls has to be my fave!

  6. October 17, 2008 9:07 am

    beautiful images! i love how you captured their fun and loving personalities!

  7. October 31, 2008 1:57 pm

    I LOVE this session, the fun natural playfulness of it, and the other woman comment made me laugh out loud! GREAT JOB on these photos!!!

  8. November 1, 2008 6:04 pm

    that green/blue wall is awesome. beautiful. love the composition on the eyes shot!

  9. November 7, 2008 3:41 pm

    Love these :) They are all adorable!

Leave a Reply

