Skip to content

I Have the Coolest Friends

October 22, 2008

I think I’ve written this post 4 times now. And it’s only because it’s really hard to sum up Francine in a short and sweet post!

I tried by mentioning all the things about her that I love. There are too many things, too many stories. So, here, in no particular order are,

A few things about Fran:

* First of all, I’ve never known Fran without Kev. They are that rare but true couple that met young, married young and will be together until the end of time.

* Despite the number of others in a room, Fran and I have a tendency to veer off into our own little world and laugh like hyenas.

* Together, Fran and I have become caught in a sea of jellyfish so thick it was like swimming through spaghetti. Out of the 6 of us that were there, I think Francine was the only one who didn’t completely lose her mind!

* I have seen her juggle 2 small children, a part time business, an active social life, Pilates twice a week, 3 live-in foreign students and a bathroom reno without a peep.

* She has more friends than anyone I know. And they would all do anything for her.

And a story that tells all about the kind of friend she is:

* Fran and I once jumped off a catamaran into a warm ocean inlet off the south west coast of Thailand to practice our ‘synchronized’ swimming. (of course we don’t synchronize swim. We were on vacation, we’d been in the sun all day, we were being silly.) We laughed our heads off and basked in the buoyant salt water. Life was good and easy and stress-free, if only for a while. Later that evening, a group of us literally sailed into the sunset on the Andaman sea, wine in hand, Bittersweet Symphony blaring, and no one saying a word – each consumed in their vacation bliss. An unforgettable time.

Months later, I was having a horrible day at work (in a previous life) and pretty much a hard time at life in general. That afternoon, out of nowhere and totally unexpected, I received a beautiful big bouquet of flowers at my office. Attached was an unsigned card with 3 words – Phi Phi Lay.  I knew right away who the flowers were from. Phi Phi Lay was the place where we swam and sailed that warm afternoon in Thailand. She didn’t have to say another thing.

And so you can see, that when Fran asked me to come to Vancouver to do a shoot with her family, even though my schedule was jam packed, I couldn’t say no. When I voiced my concern over the time it took to get to the mainland via ferry, Francine did what Francine does. She flew me over on a helicopter.

THANK YOU Franny! Seeing you only makes me miss you more!

Here is a sneak peak of the time we spent at the beach yesterday. Xoxo

Francine and I share a love of doors. I know…of all the things to love!

P.S. Fran and Kev – I could eat up your kids and want to take them home. They are the sweetest!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Francine permalink
    October 22, 2008 10:10 pm

    Not only do you know how to make me laugh, you know how to make me cry (in a good way of course!). Thank you for your kind words. I truly value our friendship and will never forget that trip to Thailand and particularly that day in Phi Phi Lay. The photos you’ve posted are exactly what I had hoped for and what you’re great at…capturing your subjects in a natural way while giving the shots your enviable artistic touch. Thank you for your time, your spirit and most of all, your friendship.

  2. October 31, 2008 1:28 pm

    What a fabulous commentary on friendship…it made me cry. Few of us have friends that are always there, no matter what. Someone who, instinctively, knows what’s going on in your world and loves you unconditionally. It says a lot about who YOU are, when you have such good, loyal friends!
    Love you too!!!

Leave a Reply

