Skip to content

Kingfisher – a Vancouver Island retreat

December 6, 2008

This past January, I was at the health show in Victoria and in my usual fashion, I entered every draw that appealed to me. See, I’m the kind of shopper that will fill her buggy, then just before I hit the checkout, I’ll put half of it back. It’s stuff. And I don’t need it. But when it comes to freebies? Oh yeah. I’m all over it.

Anyway – I entered a draw for a fabulous and pampering trip to Kingfisher resort and spa. And a few weeks later, I got that ever hoped for phone call. I’d won! The package was amazing. Two nights in a seaside suite, gourmet dinners, spa treatments, fitness classes, breakfasts. Incredible. So, I was ready to go.

The biggest dilemma though, was who to bring? I sincerely wished I’d had 10 passes, so I could take a bunch of friends. I wanted to take R, because she deserves it and has been in baby jail for the past 18 months. I wanted to take J, because she also deserves it, and she’s also in baby jail AND she took me to Grand Cayman this year! I wanted to take C, because like me, she appreciates the finer things and would love to have come and she needs to clear her head. Then there’s E and M and K and…..

But it ended up being Jen. I moved away from Jen over 4 years ago and I miss her more than ever. Whenever we see one another it’s usually in amongst business appointments and shoots and husbands and other things. She works so hard, and she’s one of my very best and she gives me stuff :) so it was time to take her away. And spas are for girlfriends. And Jen is the kind of girlfriend, that when I think of her, I think of knowing her for the rest of my life. She and I could both go through many things in life, and people and houses and move to different cities, and go through ridiculously happy times, and scary and sad times and whatever, but there’s always us.  Inside all of that ‘life’, I’ll still know Jen and no matter what, I’ll be there for her, like she’s always been there for me.

So…we went and we had a fabulous time! A day at Kingfisher: get up, go to yoga class, go to brunch, go for a nice long walk, go for a massage, then a facial, then back to the room for wine and cheese, then out for dinner. Around every turn was a great new thing about to happen. For two whole days!

Jen, whenever life gets hectic and out of control, think of our view from the ocean side suite:Kingfisher spa, Victoria photographer, beach

And being my only model!

fun and funky portraits, Victoria photographer, Kingfisher spa

fun and funky portraits, victoria photographer, Kingfisher spa

dsc_6924

And the really great massages and facials of which I have no photos of course. Yes, I tried not to bring my camera, and while I didn’t take a whole lot of photos by any means, I did want to take a few.

Here’s to making this an annual trip…..xo

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2008 6:24 pm

    The pampering you received was very well deserved indeed and I see several more spa trips in your future! Afterall, you are going to need some forced relaxation…2009 is going to be bigger than you imagine.

  2. geens permalink
    December 11, 2008 5:04 pm

    Hey darlin, I am so glad you finally got to experience “kingfisher”, now you know why we go back every year and never the same time as previous. Seasons have little impact there as each visit only brings its own beauty and uniqueness, as do you… glad you enjoyed!

  3. December 12, 2008 6:37 am

    I just LOVE the deep colors in these photographs. Beautiful. The blue of the sky is so bright. Really nice work.

  4. December 12, 2008 8:55 pm

    Nice photos is getting redundant, but Good Gawd Girl!

Leave a Reply

