Skip to content

So…Montreal is an island?

February 15, 2009

Montreal still has me in its clutches. I am compelled to speak en francais (I’ll try not to be too annoying!), eat croissant and order my cafe au lait with chocolatine.

I just spent almost a week there, visiting dearly missed friends, walking a lot, window shopping and enjoying the city that I’ve never seen before. I took my nephew with me, as a surprise to his best friend who moved away from Victoria last summer. This kid kept me entertained, and I loved the fact that 3 kids and 3 adults crammed into a two bedroom, one bathroom apartment!

For reasons that I will not bore you with, it took us almost 24 grueling hours to get there.  That’s an awful lot of time in an airport. My nephew and I joke now, that if we feel like hanging out, we’ll just go to the Victoria airport. Because we did have fun. In fact he kept me in stitches.

adventure1

This is what kept us entertained at midnight  in Calgary as we waited to board the red eye. We were pretending Ry could fly and seeing how high he could get. (where is my low-noise D700 when I need it?)

flying

And our plea after we found out that we were going to be there for a loooonnnng time….

dsc_8267

Fast forward many hours and we find ourselves in Montreal at last! Here are some highlights of our friends and our adventure….

dsc_8621

dsc_86251

dsc_8320

dsc_8349

untitled-1

dsc_8408

Love this style of homes…so many streets in the downtown area look like this…..

dsc_8455

Best friends….

best-friends

dsc_8516

Old Montreal….(Vieux Montreal)

dsc_85241

dsc_8537

dsc_84961

More to come later…. :) rw

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2009 10:40 pm

    oh my goodness, what an awesome travel post! love love the photos and the story. and the best friend photo. rebecca, you rock! xoxo

  2. February 16, 2009 6:49 pm

    Bonjour……I can’t believe you have already come and gone. Time went by soo fast and there was soo much more I wanted to do with you guys.
    Thank you soo much for coming for the visit, it really meant a lot to us. Great work on the photos, I also really like the split one, and man do I ever look funny skating. Best of luck with Ruby Joon. A bientot mon amie

Leave a Reply

