Skip to content

Namesakes

April 13, 2009

This is my Grandmother. She turns 94 this year. My Grandfather lived to be 92. I think I’ve got the good genes. This makes me happy!

Gigi, as she’s known, still complains about her wrinkles, constantly applying moisturizer in an attempt to get rid of those darned things. She only wears glasses for reading. She teaches classes. Not too many years ago, she bought a Mac computer so she could do her writing. (although she has since given that up). She is one of the best people in my world to have a conversation with – she’s compassionate and understanding, open and honest, she doesn’t take things too personally. She and I communicate well. Her name is Rebecca.

dsc_2867b2

This is my niece. She turns 2 this year. She loves cheese and olives. She loves being a girl; going to the salon to get her hair cut, dressing up in her mom’s clothes, wearing jewelery. She is easy to put to bed.

dsc_2877b

She goes by her middle name, Treya. She is a strong, funny, and so full of personality. She breaks my heart every Tuesday morning when I drop her off at daycare. I look forward to having great conversations with her. To discussing life and love and whatever else comes up. Her first name is also Rebecca.

These two got to spend some time together when Gigi made the trip from Vancouver to Victoria with my mom. I love these photos. This is what Treya will look at when she’s older. I have these types of photos of my Great Grandma.

dsc_2911bwb

dsc_2913b

And this one, with her crooked smile and her crooked bangs, sitting with my mom.

dsc_2910b

She smiles when the camera comes out….she’s getting good at that! Just as long as she doesn’t learn to say ‘Cheese’…. :) xo

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2009 1:10 pm

    sweet photos rebecca, i especially love that first one of your grandmother. she is beautiful!

  2. Ruth permalink
    April 18, 2009 10:16 am

    Fabulous pictures Rebecca! They brought tears to my eyes….love it!

  3. gina permalink
    May 26, 2009 10:11 am

    wow!!!!!!! i am still blinking to clear the tears….

Leave a Reply

